Friday, October 29, 2010

African Elections Project - Nigeria Fact Sheet

Name of Country: Nigeria
Capital City: Abuja
Size: 351,649 sq mi (910,771 sq km); total area: 356,667 sq mi (923,768 sq km)
Population: (2010 est.): 152,217,341
Political System: Democracy
Currency: Naira

SHORT POLITICAL HISTORY: Nigeria gained independence from the British on 1st October 1960. In 1963, the country transitioned itself into a Federal Republic with Nnamdi Azikiwe as the first president and finally separating from the British legacy. The emergence of a democratic Nigeria in May 1999 ended 16 years of consecutive military rule. Olusegun Obasanjo became the president of a country suffering economic stagnation and the deterioration of most of its democratic institutions. His re-election in 2003 demonstrated improvements in facing government corruptions and economic development. In the year 2007, general elections was held. Umaru Yar'Adua and Goodluck Jonathan, both of the People's Democratic Party, were elected President and Vice President, respectively. The election was marred by electoral fraud, and denounced by other candidates and some international observers. Yar’Adua's presidency ensued with uncertainty as media reports said he suffered from kidney and heart disease. In November 2009 he fell ill and was flown to Saudi Arabia for medical attention where he died in May 2010. Since then, Goodluck Jonathan has been acting as President of Nigeria to date.

Last Presidential Elections: 21st April 2007

Next Election Date: 22 January 2011

Results of last Presidential Elections: Presidential: Umaru Yar'Adua (Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) 69.82 % and Muhammadu Buhari (All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) 18.72 %

Current President: Goodluck Jonathan

Current Vice President: Namadi Sambo

Electoral Management Body: Independent National Election Commission (INEC)

Administrative Regions of Nigeria
Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bauchi, Benue, Borno , Bayelsa, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Federal Capital Territory, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kebbi, Kano , Kogi, Katsina, Kwara, Lagos, Nassarawa, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe , Zamfara

Political Parties
Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)
All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP)
Action Congress (AC)
Progressive Peoples Alliance ( PPA)
Democratic Peoples Party (DPP)
All Progressives Grand Alliance
Alliance for Democracy (AD)
Fresh Democratic Party
African Democratic Congress (ADC)
Hope Democratic Party
African Liberation Party (ALP)
African Political System (APS)
National Democratic Party
Citizens Popular Party (CPP)
Better Nigeria Party
National Conscience Party
National Action Council
Nigerian Masses Movement

Leading Contenders in the last elections : Umaru Yar'Adua of People's Democratic Party (PDP), Muhammadu Buhari of All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) and Atiku Abubakar of Action Congress (AC)

Observers and key Groups: The European Union (EU), ECOWAS, The Institute for Advancement of Democracy (TIAD), National Democratic Institute ( NDI), International Republican Institute (IRI), African Union ( AU), the United Nation ( UN), The Carter Centre

Key News Websites:
Independent National Election Commission (INEC) -
The Guardian-
The Punch-
GoodLuck Jonathan -


GoodLuck Jonathan-

GoodLuck Jonathan-


Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)-
All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) -
Action Congress (AC)
Progressive Peoples Alliance ( PPA)-
All Progressives Grand Alliance-
Alliance for Democracy (AD)-`
Fresh Democratic Party-

No comments:

Post a Comment