Monday, December 12, 2016


Some prominent incumbent members of the John Mahama-led National Democratic Congress have lost their parliamentary seats in the just ended 2016 general elections. Notable among them is Hon. Hannah Tetteh, the Member of Parliament for Awutu Senya West Constituency who is also the Minister of Foreign Affairs. She lost her seat to a business mogul, George Andah who contested on the ticket of the New Patriotic Party. The incumbent NDC Member of Parliament for Madina, Alhaji Amadu Sorogho lost his seat to Boniface Saddick also from the NPP. The Incumbent NDC MP for Ledzokuku, Sena Okiti-Duah also lost her seat to Dr. Okoe Boye, of the NPP. Other causalities include Ibrahim Murtala Mohammed, Nii Amassah Namoale and Paul Evans Aidoo who have all lost to the NPP.

The defeats suffered by these party bigwigs have resulted in a massive parliamentary majority for the NPP with no less than 169 seats. A number of factors can be attributed to the loss these prominent members suffered. Important among them was the voter apathy that was exhibited on voting day. Records show that low voter turnout was recorded across the country, while the issue of corruption and incompetence that were levelled against the incumbent NDC was also said to have played a part. 

Just like in the United States of America, many of these bigwigs were hopeful of having the advantage of incumbency at their disposal. Again, the Ghanaian voter, who is fast becoming discerning seemed to have voted on issues. As a result, not even the speedy execution, commissioning or inauguration of many projects close to the Election Day could sway them to vote for the ruling government.

In the case of the presidential race, the marginal difference that was recorded for the NPP as against that of the NDC was evident of how many people wanted to see a change in government. Now that the will of the people have been granted, only time will tell if the electorate have made the right choice.


No comments:

Post a Comment