Monday, October 28, 2013

Malawi Elections: MEC phase 6 Voter Registration winds up

Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) has announced that phase six of voter registration will officially come to an end at 4 PM on Monday, October 28, 2013. However, registration in some centres will prolong for some days depending on how many days later registration started due to some reasons.
According to a Press Release signed by MEC Chief Elections Officer, Willie Kalonga, voter registration is supposed to last for 14 days and some centres which commenced later than 14 October, the official day for commencement of phase six, will have to mitigate their days.

Registration centers that failed to open on the first day of Registration, 14 October, 2013 or any other day during the registration period will have an extension equivalent to the period when they were non-operational,” reads the release in part. Through the release MEC has further urged those who have not yet registered in the centers covered in phase six to show up before closing time, Monday, saying if overcrowding occurs on this day and some fail to register, only those who will show up on this day will be considered for priority registration on Tuesday.  According to the statement, in Chitipa East constituency, Kapyela, Chibanda, Mwandambo and Nakabuchi centres will operate until Tuesday 29 October, except for Nyungu, which will operate till October 30.

In Chitipa North and Central, the respective centres of Kapere and Mbula will also end their operations on 29 October while Kawembe in Chitipa South will close on 30 October. In Dowa South-East, North and Centre, respective centres of Tsache, Chimbuli and Kabulungo Schools will open until 29 October whereas Chimpenintula and Bweya Schools in Dowa Ngala will remain operational for a day longer.
Meanwhile the seventh phase of voter registration will run from November 1 to 14, 2013. This phase will cover Lilongwe, Likoma and Nkhata Bay district councils. Registration in the seventh phase will also take place in Mzimba South-East constituency and Mchinji North, East, West and Northeast constituencies.

Source: The Maravi Post

No comments:

Post a Comment